From the Editors; A Definition

Dear Readers,

In this issue of “Wonder” we address some of the so-called “Oriental” Orthodox Churches. For those of you that don’t know, the Oriental Orthodox, also called the “Non-Chalcedonian” Churches are those Eastern Churches who only hold to the decisions of the first three Ecumenical Councils. They rejected the deliberations of the Fourth Ecumenical Council held at Chalcedon in 451, and by so doing split with the other Christian Churches. The greater title “Oriental Orthodox” includes in its definition The Coptic Orthodox Church (Egypt), The Ethiopian Orthodox Church, The Eritrean Orthodox Church, The Syriac Orthodox Church, The Malankara Syrian Orthodox Church (In India), and the Armenian Apostolic Church. Despite having much in common with these Churches, in history, liturgy, and theology, We in the Eastern Orthodox Church still lack full communion with the Oriental Churches.

-The “Wonder” Team